top of page

School work


Texto retirado da SaStory

Aboard school works in a very different way from what I’ve been used to in school, which is both

positive and challenging.

For the first school days I worked in my planning. We had to fill in an excel sheet with small goals for

each one of our subjects. I did it with my books and additional material. It took me a while to organize ideas in my head but after planning and organizing my day to day (watch and study days) as well as my study method, things started to fit in the right place.

I started with a schedule and followed it for the first week of school and watch. Afterwards, there

was a schedule change in SaS lessons and so I adapted my own schedule, trying to maintain the time per subject I need.

In the beginning, studying with 20 people, with noise and interruptions to set sails or some other

activity was challenging. I honestly stressed out a little with the idea of not being able to focus and do what I needed to. But soon I got used to it and found my place and system.

At sea, during the 12 days we sailed to Tenerife I really felt well adapted to the study schedule.

I started by reviewing what I had learned at school and afterwards just continued to new material.

After school days we sit down and talk with our mentors, which throughout the 12 days at sea made

it easier for me to identify my own problems in the process.

I had counseling from both the teachers and Jeroen [Project leader in Regina Maris] when it came to specific questions from subjects but also when I felt lost or stressed out with the idea of lack of time or too much to work on. In this last case particularly, I really did feel good when talking to them. I felt supported and more secure.

When we got to Tenerife, and started to have more activities every day, and although having a great time, I felt school getting looser. Having half school days was frustrating, it felt unproductive and not enough. It’s even weird to think that at sea, in the middle of the waves, things feel more steady.

I’m sure I will get used to the busier schedule on land and it is amazing to have the opportunity to

learn both from books, from other people, from expeditions, from visits and from new cultures.

Mimi at Sea


Posts Em Destaque
Verifique em breve
Assim que novos posts forem publicados, você poderá vê-los aqui.
Posts Recentes
Arquivo
Procurar por tags
Nenhum tag.
Siga
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page